(3 replies, posted in wolfSSL)

Hi chris,
Thank you for your very detailed reply..!

All I want to do is be able to send email from my application. I understand that SMTP is the way to go. Since SMTP without authentication is no longer an option (port 25 frequently blocked etc) I need to do TLS handshake. Specifically, I am aiming to send emails from gmail accounts to gmail accounts (easiest for me for now) by connecting to SMTP server on port 587. Since I am a complete beginner in this field, I am not even shure what I need for that..

If I get it correctly, email providers do not support cipher suit negotiation, but I have no experoence so if you know something else please do tell.

I do not know if email providers support smaller TLS fragment length. Tried to find online but didn't yet.

Anyway - I think I can handle either 60KB or 21KB on flash.
I can also handle one 16KB TLS buffer. Im am worried wether or not I must have 16KB X2 buffers (one for Tx, one for Rx) allocated for racords. If so, isn't 32KB RAM prohibitively small?

Thanks for the link!
-Matan

(3 replies, posted in wolfSSL)

Hi, I have a simple bare-metal application running webserver + smtp client. My device has 256KB Flash and 32KB SRAM. I am using UIP TCP/IP stack and have no hardware ecryption. In order to send emails I need, to my best understanding, TLS handshake. With this regard I wonder if incorporating WolSSL in my application is feasable:

1.Can anyone help me with estimating the minimum size of the TLS library I will have to use? SRAM is probably my most limited resource.

2. From reading online, I understand 16Kbyte(!) TLS buffer size must be used unless "both sides support the max_fragment_length SSL extension". I tried to figure out if this is absolutely required for secure smtp email via gmail/yahoo but didnt find any useful data. does anyone have any info regarding to this issue?

3.Is there any documented use of Wolf/cyaSSL with UIP stack?