Topic: Generating my own certificates ... HowTo ?

OK, I'm new at this SSL/TLS stuff and am learning, I think.

So, using wolfSSL I have a client and server connecting. However, I'm using the 'example' certs that come with WolfSSL. I would like to learn how to generate my own certs. I'm pretty sure that even if you're using WolfSSL one needs to generate certs another way ... perhaps using openssl ? Is this correct?

For my server application I'm loading the following certs:

CyaSSL_CTX_load_verify_locations(ctx, "../../BRU-support/wolfssl/wolfssl-3.15.0/certs/ca-cert.pem",0)
CyaSSL_CTX_use_certificate_file(ctx,"../../BRU-support/wolfssl/wolfssl-3.15.0/certs/server-cert.pem"
CyaSSL_CTX_use_PrivateKey_file(ctx,"../../BRU-support/wolfssl/wolfssl-3.15.0/certs/server-key.pem"

My client also loads the first PEM that the server is loading. All seems to work just fine.

I did a search on certificates and come up with a few sites but none of them seems to put it all together for me. I left those site just as confused as when I entered...

If anyone can point me towards a site or book that can answer the following questions for me it would be greatly appreciated. Here's a few questions that I am seeking answers to:

1) Why does the server need to load 3 different PEM files ?
2) What is the relationship between those 3 PEM files?
3) What type of certs are those 3 PEM files?
4) How would I go about generating my own 3 PEM files using openssl or some other application?  For me to do this I think I need to know what type of PEM files they are ... ?

Unfortunately I don't see anything in the WolfSLL docs concerning this, so here I am.

Thats it for now. Any help appreciated.

Thanks, Jim

2 (edited by Kaleb J. Himes 2018-11-13 10:37:45)

Re: Generating my own certificates ... HowTo ?

Hi jb3,

It would be my pleasure to provide some insight on these items!

The number three is not fixed! A server has two requirements to load:
1) An "entity certificate" and chain of trust