1 (edited by thburger 2021-02-25 10:20:07)

Topic: How to use wolfCrypt (RSA, ECDSA) in Vitis 2020.2

I would like to use the wolfCrypt library in a project.
First of all:  I am a beginner which means I don't have much experience with the integration of external libraries or the usage of wolfCrypt.

I want to perform benchmark tests for an embedded device. It is the SoC Xilinx Zynq-7000 and I would like to test RSA and ECDSA with different key lengths.

Software used:
- Vivado 2020.2 (.xsa file only PS portion (Zynq) no PL).
- Vitis 2020.2

My problem is that I am a bit overwhelmed by the mass of files. I have tried to run an executable test on the Zynq-7000 with the help of the Introductionhttps://github.com/wolfSSL/wolfssl/blob … README.md.
Unfortunately, it always comes to Erros that the imported files are not found. I know that it probably has to do with the folder structure that the file is not found, but I can't see the forest for the trees...

Attempt 1: Change the name of the directory (wolfssl-4.x.x to wolfssl), change the import source to vitis with create-top-level folder wolfssl. However, again the file is missing.
Attempt 2: Inserting the wolfssl folder into the structure returns again the error that no file was found. However, I can navigate to the file (ctrl+click).

I would also have the following general questions:
- If I want to include/use the library and run it on an embedded device do I have to build the library on my host/developer machine (./configure, make install etc) or did I understand that correctly and that is done by Vitis? So it is cross-compiled that my arm-cortex9 processor understands the program code right?
- do I need an OS to run the test or does it also work with a bare-metal (c)-application?

i have cygwin installed on my host windows machine and have also tried to run wolfssl. But also here errors are thrown:

Do you have a tip for me as a start how I can implement or use only the two algorithms?