Topic: YaSSL with --ssl-capath - Looking for howto

Hi,

I am new to SSL and especially to get it running.
I am trying to enable SSL between an application and a MariaDB using YaSSL 2.4.4 based on the variable version_ssl_library.
Most users use have the application running with openSSL. The setup there is quite easy:
- The application creates its own certificate, which can be exported (one cert per installation, therefore several per end device).
- The exported cert will be stored in a folder on the MariaDB Server in a folder /path/capath. The variable ssl_capath points to these certs
- As the server knows all client certificates, it will trust them an grant access.

Unfortunately YaSSL works a bit different:
https://mariadb.com/kb/en/library/ssltl … sl_capath. "Those built with yaSSL don't normally support it, since yaSSL prefers to have all components of the CA certificate contained within a single certificate tree and each certificate in a file given a unique SubjectName value. To get around this with yaSSL, create a new file containing the concatenated individual certificate files in the tree, and specify this new file using this variable or the --ssl-capath option. It implies the --ssl option."

My setting:
I exported the installation files as Client1.crt, Client2.crt, Client3.crt.
These were convertet into PEM format using

openssl x509 -in Cient1.crt -inform DER -out Client1.pem -outform PEM

I have only one cert per client, no key-file and no CA-file.

My questions:
How can I create the mentioned new file with the tree?
How do I combine the individual certificates files into one file for YaSSL?
I would be really happy, if you could provide examples of the commands I have to use.

Thanks!
Markus

Re: YaSSL with --ssl-capath - Looking for howto

Hi Markus,

Thank you for contacting wolfSSL via the forums with your questions!