Topic: [SOLVED] TLS Connect Error: verify problem based on signature

Hello. I'm new to WolfSSL and starting out by trying to run the wolfssl_client / wolfssl_server example sketches from IDE/ARDUINO.

I can get them to compile and run ok, when the client tries to connect to the server the server does output 'Client connected' but the client shows:

TLS Connect Error: verify problem based on signature
SSL version is TLSv1.2
SSL cipher suite is TLS_ECDHE_ECDSA_WITH_AES_128_CBC_SHA256
TLS Write Error: verify problem based on signature
Connection complete.

What could I have missed to be causing that Connect Error?

Re: [SOLVED] TLS Connect Error: verify problem based on signature

Hi @torntrousers,

This can be caused by a memory / resource limitation, can you tell us how much heap/stack your device has available and which configuration settings you are using?

Since the cipher suite negotiated is ECDHE_ECDSA if you are not already using the setting

#define ALT_ECC_SIZE

could you set that and try again and let us know if that resolves the issue?

Warm Regards,

K

3 (edited by torntrousers 2019-07-30 23:39:30)

Thank you so much for the reply.

I've tried adding ALT_ECC_SIZE in the user_settings.h and after that the the code appears to hang inside the wolfSSL_connect(ssl) call.

I'd been trying with an ESP8266 so with your hint about it might be a memory / resource issue I tried the same code on an ESP32 which has more memory and it works ok.

Yay!

I would quite like to be able to use an ESP8266 though.

A call to ESP.getFreeHeap() just before the wolfSSL_connect call shows 21672 which I suppose isn't lots.

If you've any other tips on what I could do to try to get an ESP8266 working that would be great?

Also while you're here -  I really want to use TLS 1.3 but I can't find how to get that configured in the Arduino environment. I've raised an issue on Git about it - https://github.com/wolfSSL/wolfssl/issues/2380. Would you have any tips on that?

Best,

...ant